I remember when I was a kid…

…how much I loved the country side. My parents would take us on day trips (I LOVE long drives) and we’d end up in Lancaster, Pa or in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey. It’s coming back to me now how much I loved the beautiful landscapes and felt the serenity just being in nature and that has stayed with me all of these years. I remember being so fascinated with the Amish folks in the Dutch country of Pennsylvania or the Dunkards of Delaware (we usually visited “Aunt Sister” in Smyrna a couple of times a year).  I am a country girl at heart!

I also remember loving my mother’s family, even though I only saw them a handful of times as a kid, who all lived in and around Charlotte, North Carolina. I even named a cat “Charlotte” which made me feel like I was close to them somehow. It’s really funny how things turn out in life. It makes me think just how awesome God is, that he really does have a plan for our lives, and even though our lives (my life) has had so many twists and turns and hasn’t fit the mold of a “normal” path, I feel like I am right where I am supposed to be. Awesome!

Like starting this blog, I think following your heart and doing what you feel is right means we are going in the direction God wants us to go in. Reminds me of the commercial for Ancestry.com when they say, “You don’t have to know what you’re looking for. You just have to start looking.”  If it feels right, do it! And all the little details fall into place and over time things become more and more clear.

God IS awesome!

Leave a Reply

