Home for the Holidays

First of all, Happy Birthday to Jesus! and Merry Christmas to all my friends and family. I wish we could be up north right now with our friends and family in New Jersey and Philadelphia but we had to stay in North Carolina because of work, which is not a bad thing. Thank God we have jobs.

But this past week has been really tough for me. I’ve been so homesick, missing everyone and everything from our old home. I miss seeing the Atlantic City skyline and the smell of Absecon Creek down the street from mom’s house.

Atlantic City Skyline from Brigantine Wildlife Refuge Galloway, NJ

I miss seeing Grandmom and Grandpop and all my dad’s family at the annual Weisbecker Christmas get-together. I’m sad for Rocky because he’s missing the Christmas Eve fish dinner at his brother’s and hanging out with his family. I miss crossing over the Walt Whitman bridge to see my in-laws in Philly. I miss everything and everyone up north. Needless to say I haven’t been the most fun person to be around this week LOL.

Blue Ridge Mountains

We’ve only been living in North Carolina five months now and I know that’s not long at all. It takes time to get used to new surroundings and people. It seems to be so much easier for Rocky, but then he’s just such a happy-go-lucky kind of person. And what do I have to be so sad about? My new home is such a beautiful one, a beautiful house, property and surroundings with lots of animal friends.  Just down the street you can see the Blue Ridge mountains in the distance and Crowders Mountain and Kings Mountain are only a few miles down the road. The cost of living is lower here and is one of the main reasons we moved back down here. Most of my mother’s family lives around me and I have made a couple new friends. But it’s still not the same. If home is where the heart is, 1/2 of my heart is still in New Jersey.

This past week all I’ve thought about is my old home in South Jersey. Most of my friends on Facebook live up there and when I read their posts talking about things going on there it just makes me more sad. I kept thinking of the song by Hank Williams Sr. “I’m so lonesome I could cry” and in my mind changed the word “lonesome” for “homesick.”

But that’s enough feeling sorry for myself! Things change and life goes on. Me and Rocky are creating a new life together down here. And it’s not like we won’t ever see or talk to our friends and family again. It just can’t be any time we want. We have to plan it and save money for the trip. I guess we all have to sacrifice something… and time is the healer of all wounds.

Maybe one day all or most of my heart will be here in North Carolina. And when we say we’ll be “home for the holidays” that will mean staying here in good ol’ Dallas, North Carolina. :)

Leave a Reply

