A funny thing happened…

So the other day I was minding my own business and reading Joyce Meyer’s daily devotional and decided to share that day’s Bible passage on my Facebook page. And out of nowhere an old childhood ‘friend’ openly mocked me and my beliefs while imposing HER views on me.  (This was after a very open and heartfelt email I sent to her a few weeks prior, responding to her email mocking me and another old classmate for the same thing.) Now, I think some people would actually consider that a form of religious persecution and/or cyber-bullying. But I’m not going there.

I’ve had enough time now to think and pray and discuss this “what the heck was that all about?!” thing. The verbal attacks were a little painful at first. But then that funny thing happened. In the midst of the belittling, there was this deep place within me that felt so peaceful and yet strong and I felt like yelling, “You can’t hurt me!” It was so weird. I think my faith actually grew even stronger that day.

I have been on many different spiritual roads which have actually led me right here to Jesus. But I don’t mock those other roads.  They served their purpose at that time for me. This is where I am right now, and plan to be for a long time, and I’m not going to apologize for that.  Friends and family will mock me, and some have never respected me as a person to begin with. But we all have hurts, past, present and future. I am learning to ride those waves and turn to that secret place within where there is peace and joy. And most importantly, I am learning who’s opinion of me matters most…

All glory to God…and thank you God for giving me such a good husband and tremendous support!

“No weapon that is formed against you will prosper; And every tongue that accuses you in judgment you will condemn.” ~Isaiah 54:17

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” ~2 Corinthians 12:10

“If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous.  Be happy anyway. In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway. ” ~Taken from Mother Teresa’s “Do It Anyway”

7 thoughts on “A funny thing happened…

  1. I can’t stand when someone tries to force their religious/philosophical views on me. I actually had trouble on my blog a while back with a guy trying to debate with no other points to make other than “if it ain’t in the bible then it ain’t right”. That aside, I think everyone should be able to do their own thing and as long as they aren’t hurting anyone else they should be allowed to do it in peace without ridicule. Very strange that you were facebook friends with someone who has repeatedly belittled your faith. Just sayin.

  2. Something you shared must have hit a nerve with this friend. When someone says something that makes me take inventory of my life, sometimes I am initially offended. It’s the devil telling me that I know it all….which I don’t. My grandfather used to say, “If the devil’s not after you, then you’re doing something right for God.” It’s when things are going along smoothly that we need to re-evaluate! Great post! God bless.

    • thank you! I keep thinking, why is she so angry with me?! what on earth did I say to bring this out in her? the Bible passage was about praising and thanking God, that is all! I was feeling very thankful that day and wanted to share the quote, I think it was from one of the psalms. and the other thing is, it really isn’t about me…there is a bigger battle going on in the spiritual plane. anyway, I’m actually glad she said what she did, because it made my faith in God even stronger! I am most thankful for that! oh and she beat me to it and deleted me from facebook first! I’m still baffled but happy that i’m maturing in Christ :)

Leave a Reply

